Since 1982, the International Association of Political Consultants has been a pioneer in awarding an organization or an individual who in the judgement of its membership has worked courageously to foster, promote and sustain the democratic process anywhere in the world through our Democracy Medal, the first international award of its kind.

The Democracy Medal was awarded for the first time at the 1982 IAPC Berlin Conference to Lech Walesa, Polish Solidarity leader. Since then winners have included a diverse group including President Bill Clinton and the leaders of the Hong Kong Umbrella Movement. Below is a list of past winners.

The criteria for selection can be broad to best reflect the times. We have awarded both individual politicians and leaders, political organizations, and political movements. The ideal is to recognise and celebrate those that (at the time of being nominated) have contributed to the world of campaigns and elections through their leadership and commitment to democratic ideals.

The medal itself is a burnished rendering of the Acropolis is etched in relief on the face of the large bronze medal. The reverse side contains the engraved name of the recipient and the year it was awarded. Appropriately, the certificate which accompanies the Medal includes this universally recognized definition of democracy.

The 2020 Democracy Medal winner will be announced in November.

Presentation of the 2020 Democracy Medal to the Women of Belarus, accepted by Swetlana Tichanowskaya, Maria Kolesnikov and Veronika Zepkalo

A message from 2019 Democracy Medal winner, Ekrem İmamoğlu, Mayor of Istanbul, Turkey​

A message from 2018 Democracy Medal winner, Hong Kong Student Activist, Joshua Wong, co-founder of the Hong Kong Umbrella Movement


  • 2020 The Women of Belarus

  • 2019 Ekrem İmamoğlu, Mayor of Istanbul, Turkey

  • 2018 Hong Kong Student Activists Joshua Wong, Nathan Law and Alex Chow, Hong Kong Umbrella Movement

  • 2017 Kemal Kilicdaroglu

  • 2016 Committee To Protect Journalist

  • 2015 Leopoldo Lopez

  • 2014 Ben Goddard

  • 2013 Co-Winners: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (Trinidad & Tobago); Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller (Jamaica)

  • 2012 Presidents George H.W. Bush & Bill Clinton

  • 2011 The Arab Spring

  • 2010 Morgan Tsvangirai, Prime Minister of Zimbabwe

  • 2009 Dr. Mir Hossein Mousavi, Iranian Prime Minister

  • 2008 Datuk Seri Anwar bin Ibrahim, Former Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia

  • 2007 The People of Indonesia

  • 2006 Evelyn Dubrow, Director Emeritus IAPC

  • 2005 Viktor Yushchenko, President of Ukraine

  • 2004 Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Founder National Association in Support of Children’s Rights, Iran

  • 2003 Joe Napolitan & Michel Bongrand, Founding members of the IAPC

  • 2002 Morgan Tsvangirai, Chairman, Movement of Democratic Change, Zimbabwe

  • 2001 Hugo Banzer, President of Bolivia

  • 2000 George Mitchell, Former US Senator

  • 1999 Milo Djukanovic, President of the Republic of Montenegro

  • 1998 Martin Lee, Chairman, Hong Kong Democratic Party

  • 1997 International Foundation for Election Systems

  • 1996 Yitzhak Rabin (posthumous), Prime Minister of Israel

  • 1995 Aung San Suu Kyi, National Leauge for Democracy in Mayarmar

  • 1994 Jimmy Carter, Former President of the U.S.

  • 1993 F. W. de Klerk, State President, Republic of South Africa And Nelson Mandela, President, African National Congress

  • 1992 Hans-Dietrich Genscher, 18 years Foreign Minister

  • 1991 Boris Yeltsin, President of the Russian Republic

  • 1990 Vaclav Havel, President of Czechoslovakia

  • 1989 Mikhail Gorbachev, President of USSR

  • 1988 No Medal awarded

  • 1987 Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister of Great Britain

  • 1986 Corazon Aquino, President of the Philippines

  • 1985 Willy Brandt, Chancellor of West Germany

  • 1984 Raul Alfonsin, President of Argentina

  • 1983 Raoul Wallenberg, Swedish diplomat

  • 1982 Lech Walesa, Polish Solidarity leader